996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

2001 996 Turbo, can an amp/sub be installed on Factory Head Unit?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 01:00 PM
911NTM75 is on a distinguished road
2001 996 Turbo, can an amp/sub be installed on Factory Head Unit?

Curious to know whether this is possible--- I have the double din unit with the Navi. I just want a bit more bass and am thinking about getting a Basslink sub/amp combo to throw behind the rear seats. Is this possible with the factory head unit and all else staying the same? Thank you!

Old 04-02-2013, 01:22 PM
FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !
I'm no expert, but adding a bass I would suspect you will need to add an amp as well, unless the head unit has the power in it the bass would need.

Originally Posted by 911NTM75
Curious to know whether this is possible--- I have the double din unit with the Navi. I just want a bit more bass and am thinking about getting a Basslink sub/amp combo to throw behind the rear seats. Is this possible with the factory head unit and all else staying the same? Thank you!

Old 04-02-2013, 03:00 PM
Yes, an amp will definitely be necessary. I am wondering though, if I can get power to it from the amp, can I get signal from the head unit to it as well with a factory setup?That would make for a pretty easy install.

Old 04-02-2013, 07:28 PM
pfbz is a jewel in the roughpfbz is a jewel in the roughpfbz is a jewel in the rough
There are several powered subwoofers that are easy to wire into any existing system. They tie into the existing left and right speaker wires and take the differential signal as input, plus a power and ground wire.

eg: Infinity BassLink.