996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Wheel rebuild project

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-17-2013, 03:31 PM
mlandingin177 is on a distinguished road
Wheel rebuild project

Hi everyone,

Im fairly new to 6speed and wanted to say HI. I picked up my 996 last year and just starting to look for upgrades and modifications. Wanted to post my build and keep everyone updated.

I first started by pick up some Champion wheels from a fellow member (thanks Izzy):

The wheels were in good shape (no bends, cracks) it had some curb damage and the chrome were peeling on some parts of the outer lip.

I decided to disassemble the wheel and have the chrome stripped. I first had the lips stripped:

after the stripping was complete the wheels had a nice reverse look to it (chrome face/ Raw finish outer lip), but too bad the curb damage was visible. So i decided to change the color of the face and polish outer lip.

I had the face stripped and I painted the faces with a textured silver/grey metallic paint.

I decided to Sandwich mount the face in between the inner and outer lip/dish. After putting together the wheel I am happy with the turn out.

Now I have to order new assembly bolts as the old ones were all rusted. I am still debating if i should get gold or chrome ones.

Hopefully I can finish this build and have them on the car before summer. Ill keep everyone posted

Sorry i dont have a pictures of the car but I do have this pic of some projects wheels and the car is in the back ground

ill get some pics as soon as I detail the car.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	716033d1364620043-19-champion-motorsport-rg5b-replicas-look-img_0773.jpg
Views:	4769
Size:	334.5 KB
ID:	243644   Click image for larger version

Name:	716034d1364620043-19-champion-motorsport-rg5b-replicas-look-champion-wheel-barrle.jpg
Views:	4373
Size:	422.1 KB
ID:	243645  
Attached Images