996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Thin metal flakes in oil filter

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 08:50 AM
Jauntime is on a distinguished road
Thin metal flakes in oil filter

I'm a complete newbie to the forum and recently acquired a 2003 C4S that only had 17.6k miles at time of purchase. It was owned by an elderly man that had driven it less and less over the past 3-4 years. The last time it was serviced was 2000 miles and 4 years ago so I of course took it in to my local independent shop immediately for all of the fluids to be changed. (oil, brake, coolant)

Upon inspecting the dissected oil filter, there were a handful of very thin metal flakes (prob 5-10). The oil seemed clear otherwise and the flakes were only found by opening the filter. The shop indicated that they were not consistent with the ims bearing metal and that its not unusual to see some metal debris. They stated that I should not worry but to see what happens next time I take it in for service in a few months or 3k miles. After reading all of the forums about the ims bearing failure, I of course am a little scared to continue driving.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated...

Old 12-08-2013, 09:19 AM
Stone_05 is on a distinguished road