996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

MINI Cooper S Traded for '99 C2

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-17-2014, 03:00 PM
TopherMessier is on a distinguished road
MINI Cooper S Traded for '99 C2

Hi everyone,
I was approached this week with an offer to trade [my] 2008 MINI Cooper S Clubman (fully loaded, lightning blue/black) for a 1999 Porsche 911 Carrera. It's got 70k, finished in silver/black, 6-speed, sunroof, nav, and 18" OEM wheels...
Before going ahead and making my move, I'd like to have some input here. Aside from regular oil changes, etc... What are some of the major services needed for a 996 with 70,000 miles? Although I trust the owner's integrity in saying that the car is meticulously maintained at EPE in Natick, it's still a Porsche.

Also, I'd appreciate some input on practicality. I am an undergraduate college student, and want to make sure it can used daily with ease.

Thanks in advance!
Christopher

Old 01-17-2014, 04:30 PM
HM1
HM1 is on a distinguished road
the potential engine issues in the early 996 are enough to make me not wanna swap

Old 01-17-2014, 04:50 PM
Wausau 911 is on a distinguished road
At 60k, new serpentine, plugs, filters, coolant flush, tranny fluid, brake fluid.
See if the meticulous car had these done. Get history paperwork, trust but verify.

Old 01-17-2014, 04:51 PM
NineEreven is a jewel in the roughNineEreven is a jewel in the roughNineEreven is a jewel in the rough
Originally Posted by HM1
the potential engine issues in the early 996 are enough to make me not wanna swap
Lol hardly, i would take the right porsche over ANY mini in a heartbeat.

As for your info, one thing to do is clean out the radiators. Remove the bumper, air ducts, and condensors and use a wirebrush. So much crap gets built up in there, and its a free maintenance job.

Old 01-18-2014, 07:56 PM