996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Cab Top "Oxidizing"?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-01-2014, 09:31 PM
philthy57 is on a distinguished road
Cab Top "Oxidizing"?

Hey guys,

2004 996 Cab that came with a "granite silver" top, but it's kinda tan overall now. It doesn't "bead up" when you wash it, so the previous owner didn't apply any sort of conditioner. I'm an aircraft mechanic on Boeing 737s, so this soft top stuff is new to me! There are a few places on the top that still look kinda grey (around the hinge points).

I'm not looking into tinkering at the moment and may ask a body shop when I get it detailed to get out the minor scratches on the paint, etc. but thought I'd throw out the question to you experienced folks. I'm OK with the color for now, but the girlfriend is being a bit **** LOL!

Has anyone experienced anything like this? I'm real tempted to scrub away, but I don't want to go overboard! I'd appreciate any replies....

Phil

Old 04-01-2014, 09:51 PM
teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !teflon_jones Is a GOD !
It's normal for the top to get more sun bleached from UV, but yours is definitely more bleached than any I've seen. The color may be due at least partly to wax or other substances getting on it from the body, so starting with just a really good wash is where you want to start before doing that.

Last edited by teflon_jones; 04-01-2014 at 11:45 PM.
Old 04-01-2014, 10:13 PM
bal
bal is on a distinguished road