996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Fluids...

Old 01-06-2016, 10:10 PM
LagunaSecaC4S is on a distinguished road
Fluids...

I'm sure there are plenty of threads on this, but why not start another...

I'm a 996 C4S newbie. My car needs fresh fluids.

What's the consensus on:
- engine oil
- manual transmission oil
- differential fluid

My car has 150k miles and enjoys drinking oil to the tune of 1 quart per ~1500 miles. I live in California and my car only comes out when it's above 50F. Per the owners manual, I can use either 10-40, 15-40, 15-50.

These days, those grades aren't so easy to find. The thickest synthetic I can find at Costco is Mobil1 10-30. I generally avoid Walmart as a matter of habit, but I have noticed that they have a pretty good selection of 5 quart synthetic jugs from Mobil1, Total, etc. including some thick stuff. Any suggestions?

I have had good luck with Redline lubricants for transmission and differential fluids in my BMWs. In general, I replace transmission fluid every 30k miles and differential fluids every 60k miles. What are the go-to choices for 996 transmission and differential fluids?

I'm a 911 newbie. So here goes. I assume my 996 C4S has a unitary transmission/rear diff and a separate diff for the front axle. Is that correct or am I an idiot?

Assuming I'm not an idiot, what sort of fluids should I put in the tranny and front diff? In BMW-land, it was Redline D4 ATF in modern manual transmissions and Redline 75/90 in the rear diff.

I recently purchased a very strange car with an engine located behind the rear axle and that appears to drive all four wheels. If this weirdness continues I should seek out a Tyrrell 6 wheel F1 car.

Best regards,
Eric

Old 01-07-2016, 06:04 AM