996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

IMS Tensioner Paddle Failing?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-09-2016, 11:47 PM
M.Schoch is on a distinguished road
IMS Tensioner Paddle Failing?

Hello all,
I'm a long time lurker, short time member, and first time poster. I have owned my Porsche for just over a year now. Here is some info:

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera (996)
3.4l engine
Tiptronic
100,120 miles

I am not a mechanic, I've never even changed oil on any other car until I got this one. I really wanted to know my car and so anything that has been done to it, I did. With that said you will have to be patient with me because I still don't know anything, the only issue I had was when i first bought the car I had an oil leak. One of the spark plug tubes was cracked. Changed the spark plugs and coils, but when it came to getting that cracked tube out I quickly noticed it was broken into 3 pieces. One of the pieces dropped inside the engine and I couldn't get it out. Did some research online, but didn't find much. So I put a new tube in, finished working, and prayed the car would be fine.

Fast forward to last week. I noticed an oil leak and knew from where it was leaking it was probably the RMS. I took it to a well known, reliable shop to have everything done to it since the transmission would be pulled out. The shop said there was no metal in my oil and the filter looked good, but rhen they removed the sump pump and found pieces of broken plastic inside. They put the sump pump back on and stopped working on my car. They told me that the IMS Tensioner Paddle is failing, they can't change out the IMS bearing with the retro fit kit, the engine will fail, and for me to sell the car as fast as possible. They hadn't removed the transmission yet. They stopped right at this point.