996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Deciding which to buy...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-03-2017, 12:06 AM
Secular996 is an unknown quantity at this point
Deciding which to buy...

Hello all,

Firstly let me tell you... i just stumbled upon this car probably a week ago. I am a 24 y/o mechanical engineer @ Dmax ( turbo diesel engine for chevy/GMC) and never thought in a million years i could own not just a porsche 911.. but the 996.. one of my favorite body styles, for this cheap (18-35k).

I currently own a 475ish rwhp(or will be when i finish installing boltons and tuning) 06 E55 AMG. An 04 full bolt-on and dyno tuned 260rwhp 04 g35 coupe and have owned many cars before those but those are the only 2 i have ever tinkered with. I absolutely adore my G35 as it was my first "quick" car i ever owned and definitely the car that got me into cars. Its nimble, quick, and an overall fun car to drive but i have been prepping myself to sell it for about 6 months now as i bought this E55 AMG about 4 months ago. Basically, i found out that straight line speed gets boring and i want to get back into a smaller car that i can throw around the corners, daily, and just have fun with. YES, this is going to be my daily for all of the summer until i pick up a winter beater.

Moral of the story is... I am selling both the merc and the G and buying a MK2 996 911. Im looking for a car i can track occasionally, autoX occasionally, also daily, that isn't going to break on me(too much... its a 12-14 year old car, i do not expect there to be 0 problems) as i run my cars pretty hard ( but always take care of them). Here's my problem...

DO I GET...

C4S:
Awd, widebody, Love the sound of the NA motor, can be had with 50k or so miles for 30k or less, 3300ish lbs

C2: RWD, Non widebody, Still love the sound of the NA motor, Can be had for 18-25k with 50k or so miles on it, 2900 ish lbs..

OR

Turbo: