997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

50th edition vs. Sport Classic

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-19-2014, 04:49 PM
iambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud ofiambon has much to be proud of
50th edition vs. Sport Classic

Dear All,

I put this tread on 991 forum

https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/...t-classic.html

and I hope you do not mind that I post it here. I just would like to know your 997 opinions.

My background is I came from Cayman S -> 991 C2S, and I just sold my loverly 991 C2S last month since I wanted to get 991 GT3. However, 991 GT3 is not available due to the recent fire problem so if I want to get 991 GT3 then my dealer told me that I will have to wait at least 16-18 months to get the new production batch.

I don't want to wait that long (my bad habit) so I put a deposit on a new 50th edition. However, I came across 2nd hand 997 Sport Classic (2011) with only 5,000 miles and it is mint. I think the sport classic looks really great. I cannot decide which one to go, both cars are more or less at the same prices in my country. The Sport Classic seems to hold a value very well since it is available only 250 cars. I hope to keep it as long as I can! I am not worry too much about a resales vaule since this is my weekend car and I just want to enjoy it.

What do you guys think? Will i am disappoint to go back to a ride on 997? I did not spend much time with 997 since I moved from Cayman S to 991 and 991 has a very good ride (my last 991 C2S has Sport Chrono, PDK, PASM, and PDDC). Of course, 997 has a manual which I am really like.

Which one will you choose and why?

Thank you in advance for your kind inputs.

Best regards,

Bond

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version