997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Opinions on four 997s for first-time buyer (in Canada)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-22-2015, 01:02 PM
MFT
MFT is on a distinguished road
Opinions on four 997s for first-time buyer (in Canada)

I've been keeping an eye on the 997 market for a couple of years, inquiring about interesting cars that catch my eye, but never pulling the trigger on anything. I've recently come across a few cars that seem to be potential good buys in my budget (up to +/- $80k CAD):

1. 997.1 (2008) Turbo, 6 spd, 47k km, $86k:
http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Porsche/9...&orup=24_15_84

2. 997.2 (2012) Carrera Black Edition, 6 spd, Sport Chrono Pkg Plus, 30k km, $80k, CPO:
http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Porsche/9...&orup=27_15_84

3. 997.2 (2011) C4S, 6 spd, 34k km, $82.5k:
http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Porsche/9...O&orup=6_15_11

4. 997.2 (2012) C4, 6 spd., Sport Chrono, 37k km, $79.8k:
http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Porsche/9...&orup=28_15_84

Any thoughts? I know the Turbo is the outlier, but it seems like a pretty good car for the money. I have not inquired specifically about any of them with the dealers. The 2012 Black Edition is obviously the most "basic" car of the three, but it is has CPO, which I do value. My feeling is the C4S is probably the best bang for the buck, assuming it is as described.

Old 12-22-2015, 01:31 PM
Motams can only hope to improve
You need to drive them, but my vote is Turbo or 4S. The Turbo doesn't have many options and has dated electronics. But it has the Mezger and its a 6MT which will become collectible.

The 4S is newer with a few more options than the Turbo. I personally like that the 4S is 6MT with Sport Chrono although it is not needed in a manual.

Both the the above options will be reliable, don't let warranty sway your decisions, unless it obviously gives you a added feeling of comfort. These cars are very reliable compared to cars of a similar price category or performance.