Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cayman reliability+cost of ownership

Old 10-06-2011, 09:37 PM
Gabster is on a distinguished road
Cayman reliability+cost of ownership

Hey guys I'm new here and to Porsche completely, looking into acuaring an used cayman probably a 07-08 S , however I would be a bit worried on how reliable they are, again I have had no experience with the brand, any feedback on the matter would be greatly apretiated from those of you that have driven it for longer

This would be my DD
Thank you in advance for the help
Gabs

Old 10-07-2011, 08:28 AM
ScooterP is just really niceScooterP is just really niceScooterP is just really niceScooterP is just really nice
By and large, the only issue with the Gen 1 Cayman has been from oil starvation while on the track pulling hard turns (I think this causes the dreaded IMS issue IMO - search forum for more on that). If you are going to DD this and not track it, it should be very reliable. Porsche has a great JDPower rating and I have never had one thing go wrong with my cars. I would say that if you are looking at 07-08, go ahead and look at 06 as well. They are essentially the same. As you will hear often, get a prepurchase inspection before pulling the trigger.

I have never had a Cayman, but I really like them, so others on this forum may be a bigger help with specifics.

Good luck with it.

Old 10-07-2011, 11:24 AM
V8HAHA is on a distinguished road
Ive had my cayman S (2006) for over a year and never had a single issue. Before the Cayman I had a Boxster and never had a single issue as well. Dont get me started on the M5...

Old 10-07-2011, 11:35 AM
jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !jhuang25 Is a GOD !
Originally Posted by Gabster