GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

how long do they hold their value?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-29-2007, 01:03 PM
DrPeter has a spectacular aura aboutDrPeter has a spectacular aura aboutDrPeter has a spectacular aura about
how long do they hold their value?

I am new to the GT3 and did not monitor the car prior to the 997. It seems the 996 GT3 owners lost a significant amount of their cars value when the 997 came out after only a few short years of ownership.

I am curious, did most of the value get lost when the 997 came out or when the 997 gt3 came out?

Based on what happened to the 996gt3, when should I plan on selling my 997 gt3 so that I dont take heavy losses and still maximize my time ownership of this wonderful car?

Old 07-29-2007, 01:19 PM
TT Tommy is on a distinguished road
don't sell it.

Old 07-29-2007, 01:22 PM
PCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to beholdPCJR is a splendid one to behold
Your driving a new Porsche...not a classic. Enjoy the car
and forget about the depreciation...the slide has already started!

Old 07-29-2007, 02:18 PM
SrfCity is on a distinguished road
IMO the GT3 will hold it's value for a while. I think P is setting a bit of an example with the 3's and trying to engineer a bit of scarcity which translates to better price retention. It's my undersanding that 3's are not quite as profitable so they may be trying an exclusivity angle. More limited production, PCCB limitation, small '08 allocations etc. We'll see how it shakes out but if you paid MSRP you're good, for now.

Old 07-29-2007, 08:46 PM
NeverFastEnough is on a distinguished road
Enjoy your car for as long as you can. These machines are not investments; we will all lose money.