Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Pay it forward: "Definitive Guide to new Gaydon Era Aston Martins" for new owners

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-22-2017, 05:21 PM
R32sSayBwaaa is an unknown quantity at this point
Pay it forward: "Definitive Guide to new Gaydon Era Aston Martins" for new owners

Hey guys, instead of coming in and instantly posting "Hi I'm so and so, and I want to buy an Aston, what do I need to know," (no offense to those that have,) I've been lurking for a bit now, and doing lots of reading. It helps that I'm an engineer stuck out to sea currently. Lots of downtime.

I'm looking for an 08 V8V, and I know the biggest common expense to worry about is clutch, but there are other issues that happen, door handles, thermostats, etc, but. In every "Hi, I want to buy an Aston thread" someone says go buy The Book. I saw the link in the FAQ, (which, is one of the more useful FAQs for potential owners I've seen on a car forum,) and decided sure, that'd be a good read. I'd really like to check that out.

Problem is, once the bug bites, you're suddenly dying to find your perfect Aston, which is now my case. I'd still like to read the book, but the only ordering options I've found are over a month out, or $300USD+ for some reason.

So I figured, usually people really only want that book to research buying their Aston, probably usually just their first Aston. So I thought, man, this is the perfect opportunity to set up a cool little pay it forward thing. We could get a copy circulating, get a list going in a thread, (maybe this one) and just pay for shipping from the guy before you. Maybe even have a North America list and a Europe list? We could even get super cheesy and each sign the inside cover or something, add our forum handle and the model we bought or something, idk.