Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finally: Dyno charts of de-snorked 986S!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-03-2007, 09:57 AM
Former Vendor
Bisimoto is on a distinguished road
Talking Finally: Dyno charts of de-snorked 986S!!!

Greetings all,
I recently purchased my 2001 Boxster S (2 weeks ago), and could not wait to start playing around with it on my dynamometer. I am an engineer, tuner and enthusiast, and have designed parts for NSXs, S2000s, and even factory supported FWD drag race teams. My race program involved many secured world records...but I digress.
Since I own my own Dynapack Chassis dynamometer, and noticed some confusion in this board (yes, I have lurked for a while) in regard to if de-snorking produces any other benefit above an enhance intake roar, I took it upon my self to perform the following test. Each run was repeated to ensure credibility.
My bone stock S: red line
De-snorked (15 minuets later): violet line
Name:  DeSnorked986S.jpg
Views: 2455
Size:  95.8 KB
A 5 WHP GAIN!!!! In addition, almost 3 ft/lbs of torque
Finally some proof, and feel free to share this with our peer members. This is the most cost effective gain I have seen in a while!
On the dyno:
Name:  DSC01278.jpg
Views: 2283
Size:  37.9 KB
Left over "organ":
Name:  DSC01282.jpg
Views: 2195
Size:  48.3 KB

No tyre interface to introduce, variables like other cheaper intertia dynos. More data to come, as I try some interesting technology on the S...

Old 03-03-2007, 07:21 PM
fornowh is on a distinguished road
Headers

Cool, I just spoked with you this morning, I am glad you did it. I will stop by the shop one of this days. See you.

Old 03-04-2007, 10:21 AM
dblvanos will become famous soon enoughdblvanos will become famous soon enough