6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   914/914-6 (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/914-914-6-21/)
-   -   Will a 914 feel fast as a daily driver (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/914-914-6/222357-will-914-feel-fast-daily-driver.html)

durty 09-03-2010 07:18 PM

Will a 914 feel fast as a daily driver

Hello I am a student interested in getting my first porsche and in my limited budgets a 914 has caught my eye. My wife thinks it's cute so I got the ok. But I looked into a quarter mile calculator and at a generous 95 hp for a 1974 2.0 and ~ 2300 lbs with me (175 6'2") a quarter mile calculator gave me an estimated 19+ seconds :eek: that seems slow. I put the 190 hp and 3800 lbs for her jeep grand cherokee sport and it said 16.7 s. Not that I'm trying to drag race this thing, but I want it to feel fast, peppy, fun when I'm driving around town and then have some fun with it on the track or auto cross. So my question is will a 914 feel fast or will it always feel like it's dragging?
-durty

racerbvd 09-05-2010 12:57 PM

Properly tuned & set up,it will feel like a slot car.. Sure there are faster cars out there, but few more fun...

https://forums.pelicanparts.com/uplo...1283712976.jpg
https://forums.pelicanparts.com/uplo...1283713032.jpg

CorsePerVita 09-06-2010 12:37 PM

My 914 doesn't feel like it's dragging. It feels peppy, and i've got a 1.7L early 1970. However, by today's standards it's a slug. You can do modifications and squeeze more out. But where they really shine is driving experience and handling. There is something about their bare simplicity that makes them insane amounts of fun to drive.

No power brakes, no power steering, no abs, none of the crap of a modern day car. All dependent on the driver.

carr914 09-08-2010 07:01 AM