Winter Rubber on centerlocks

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-16-2015, 05:01 PM
pandawest is on a distinguished road
Winter Rubber on centerlocks

Hi all,

Buying winter rubber for my 2015 GTS 4 w/ centerlocks. Choices as most people know are Pirelli Sotto Zero II or the Michelin Alpin PA4.

Anyone with either of these please chime in with their experience? I am not likely driving through deep snow, 80% of my 'winter' driving is 35-50F in the rain so I really want to know which of these performs better in wet weather.

Also, I am new to centerlocks. Anyone have a decent tire shop deal with these or is this a dealer only thing?

Thanks

Old 10-16-2015, 09:13 PM
akbjr will become famous soon enoughakbjr will become famous soon enough
They are quite comparable. The Pirelli do better in dishing out the snow and the michelins can get packed w snow often.

In the wet I can't offer any advice.

Good luck.

Old 10-17-2015, 11:32 AM
Green Hornet has a spectacular aura aboutGreen Hornet has a spectacular aura about
Art there better options if one were to use aftermarket wheels in 19"
Also wouldn't narrower tires be better

Old 10-17-2015, 11:33 AM
Not sure if the brakes will fit.

Old 10-17-2015, 02:16 PM
Vise is on a distinguished road
Having used both I'd highly recommend the Michelin PA4... better in snow and better dry grip as well. No question it is the superior tire vs the Pirelli.

Old 10-17-2015, 03:21 PM
Originally Posted by Vise
Having used both I'd highly recommend the Michelin PA4... better in snow and better dry grip as well. No question it is the superior tire vs the Pirelli.
Thanks, I like the tread pattern on the PA4's for wet, but I'm no tire expert.

Old 10-17-2015, 03:30 PM