997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Mezger oil leak question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-28-2019, 06:20 PM
darkhorse1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Mezger oil leak question

I’ve finally got round to fixing my car (hopefully) and the first job is removing the turbos as Im replacing them to to corrosion plus a leak due to that(uk weather..)

So iI’ve been under the car and found an oil
drip from what I believe is a timing chain guide bolt

it has left a few drips on the drive over the past few weeks.
I am new to flat sixes but have rebuilt quite a few 2jzs and various other motors so I am confident to tackle most things if I have the tools... Can anyone confirm what replacing the innocent o ring or washer on this involves?
From reading up timing needs to be locked at tdc, chain tension removed with a tool then Is it a case of remove the guidebolt and reseal? Where do I use the locking tool and tensioner tools I dont have yet..! Or is it easier to take it to a good indy who has the tools (if they are $$$) thanks

Old 04-28-2019, 09:25 PM
brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !brnrdtns Is a GOD !
That has a aluminum washer behind it that does the sealing. Just tighten it up slightly. The washer will smash more and it should seal. If not then loosen it up and put some auto sealant type stuff on it. Don't pull that pin out.

Old 04-29-2019, 02:12 AM
Originally Posted by brnrdtns
That has a aluminum washer behind it that does the sealing. Just tighten it up slightly. The washer will smash more and it should seal. If not then loosen it up and put some auto sealant type stuff on it. Don't pull that pin out.
Thanks buddy.