6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   997 Turbo / GT2 (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/997-turbo-gt2-58/)
-   -   Could use some advice- Porsche newbie here (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/997-turbo-gt2/431187-could-use-some-advice-porsche-newbie-here.html)

thekanezzi 05-08-2019 06:55 PM

Could use some advice- Porsche newbie here

Hello gents,

I need some advice from you more senior members on here, I want to learn from your car buying and owning experiences.

TLDR: I am debating on getting a 997 turbo, but Im worried I wont enjoy the car in the long term.

Basically, I am car shopping for a new toy. In the past Ive had a 700hp Coyote mustang, 600 hp LS FD RX7 and a modded 04 cobra. I was raised pretty much around Ferraris. My dad has had several. I think they are overrated, although very beautiful and in many ways fun, just not my thing.

I want another toy, and I want to be captivated enough to keep it. My only real limitations are sub $125k all in price tag and I need 4 seats. I know 911s have tiny seats but I have a tiny family. I dont street race, but i enjoy spirited canyon runs and occasional runway racing. I am looking to get a decently fast car but i want to focus on a very rewarding driving experience. I always thought Id get another american car, mod it and love it. I have already bought a few and after a couple years i get bored. Long story short, I drove a 997.2 turbo and really enjoyed it. It was fast, more raw than I expected, and generally exhilarating. I am thinking the ideal car would be a well optioned 2009 997 turbo in manual.

Here are my concerns:

*Cost- I can comfortably make the payments but it will stretch my budget. I am also worried a bit about upkeep. Overall, I confident I can reasonably buy this car, but not if I am going to get sick of it in a year or two.