997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

997 to the Track

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 08:46 AM
cmargosi is a glorious beacon of lightcmargosi is a glorious beacon of lightcmargosi is a glorious beacon of lightcmargosi is a glorious beacon of lightcmargosi is a glorious beacon of lightcmargosi is a glorious beacon of light
997 to the Track

Hey All,

I recently had an 08 M3 Conv. totaled and I'm considering moving to the 997 Cabriolet with a PDK.

I always like to track a new car once to see what it can do. What are the "must dos" (i.e. brake pads, lines, fluid) before putting a 997 on track. Or will it survive 1 day at the track stock?

As a barometer, I am an intermediate / advanced driver. I do about 10 - 15 track days a year and I do normally drive a dedicated track car (but it's broken).

Thoughts are appreciated.

Old 08-25-2010, 08:57 AM
Sleepy996 is a jewel in the roughSleepy996 is a jewel in the roughSleepy996 is a jewel in the roughSleepy996 is a jewel in the rough
Your first time on the track with 997 cab I would run bonestock. I dont know your driving ability but after a few laps you should be able to feel what you need to upgrade to improve lap times and handling etc or you may be satisified with the vehicle just stock. I must say if you havent purchased this vehicle yet and you will be tracking her I would consider getting the S coupe instead of a cab. More power better handling and brakes etc. The frame is just not as rigid on the cab of course.

GL keep us updated !

Old 08-25-2010, 09:00 AM
westloop is on a distinguished road
I'd change brake fluid to ATE, Motul or something along those lines. Other than that, you are set to go.

Old 08-25-2010, 09:13 AM
NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !