997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Picking up new CS4, Reno to Texas - what route?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 11:16 PM
jedwards is on a distinguished road
Picking up new C4S, Reno to Texas - what route?

Newbie here!!!

While visiting family in Reno two weeks ago my wife suggested I stop by the local dealership and see if they had anything I "might like..." I had recently sold my 06 vett and her 2010 370z, looking to move to a p-car. Yes, I know, finally drank the kool-aide and saw the light! Anyhow, hadn't found the perfect car or dealer who really wanted to sell in Texas and was looking towards the used market. However, in Reno they were ready to deal!

Ended up buying the last 2011 C4S they had at a discount. I saw what the first year of the new 2005 C6 model did to the vette image and still had some recalls with my 06 - envision this recall: "at some point your roof may malfunction and separate from the car...." Thus, the well known flying roof recall. I have seen the new web promo for the next gen 911 and a bit gun shy of any first year releases currently. Rather buy now and enjoy, trade in later on a 2nd or 3rd year model.

I was going to use Intercity to transport back to Stephenville (big thx to Jim) but they were going to be several weeks out from transporting because of the Barrett-Jackson auction this coming weekend in Las Vegas. So my wife says, "why don't you just use some frequent flyer miles and go out to Reno, then drive it back!" Yep, I love her.

Now I have arranged 2 1/2 days from work to get back. The question:

What route would you take from Reno to Stephenville, Texas the first week of October in a brand new CS4, a Valentine (gifted from my C6) and time to kill?

Looking forward to all recommendations....

Attached Images  

Last edited by jedwards; 09-19-2011 at 11:23 PM.
Old 09-20-2011, 01:05 AM