997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

PLEASE HELP Porsche Newbie here - Coolant in Cylinder 1 (997.1 C4 Tip)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-06-2019, 12:58 PM
GambLord69 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation PLEASE HELP Porsche Newbie here - Coolant in Cylinder 1 (997.1 C4 Tip)

Friends and fellow Porsche enthusiasts:

I am in a bad place right now. All is not well. I bought my 997 C4 Cabriolet (tip) this summer and put a glorious 8,000 miles on it this year. I got a PPI when I bought the car and everything was a-okay... up until recently. It's currently got 66K miles on it. During my ownership, I have not experienced any issues with the car, no check engine lights, no intermix, no overheating, no clanking, no high oil consumption, no coolant leaks, etc. and it has never seen a mechanic during my (limited) ownership for repairs - only for routine maintenance (and for a gundo-hacked exhaust to give it a throatier purrr).

This past week, the car had been sitting in my heated garage for longer than usual (2 weeks - I commute by mass transit, so I dont drive it regularly during the week). When I turned it on, it struggled -- but it fired up. The car was idling roughly (like it was misfiring) and large clouds of white smoke (not sweet smelling - but smelling like oil) were billowing out of the exhausts. Took it to a mechanic who inspected it with a borescope. Below are the pictures he provided me with from the inside of cylinder 1. Apparently there is a coolant inside Cylinder 1 (see pictures).