6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   Aston Martin (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/aston-martin-39/)
-   -   V8 Vantage questions (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/aston-martin/245908-v8-vantage-questions.html)

RaceCarDriver 06-03-2011 09:42 PM

V8 Vantage questions

I'm not new to 6speedonline, but I am new to the Aston Martin forum. Drove a 2006 V8 Vantage for a few days and loved it.

I do have a couple of questions:

Where do you take your car for service?

I live in Bergen County, New Jersey and the nearest dealer is Miller Motorcars in Greenwich, CT. Are there any good Indy mechanics in the Bergen County area?

I read that on the 2007 or later models the passenger airbag will disarm if a child is in the front seat. Can someone confirm this?

I would like to be able to pick my 6 year old up from school. It's only a mile away but I want to make sure she would be safe.

Must have options for me are a 6 speed manual and the 700Watt stereo, and probably the sport package.

I'm looking at pictures of used ones online, how can I tell if the car has the 700Watt stereo?

I test drove an 08 with the sport shift transmission and it was awful, worst transmission ever, IMO.

I'd prefer a 2009 for the 4.7L engine. Is the 4.7 worth the extra $$$?

How good is the sport package?

This will be a semi daily driver, or probably the daily driver (good weather only). Does the sport package make the handling a lot better? I love fast cars, but handling is even more important to me than 0-60 times.

How is the ride with the sport suspension? Is it too harsh for daily driving. My C4S has a stiff ride but is fine for a daily driver.

And most importantly....I play ice hockey three times a week, can I fit my hockey bag and stick in the passenger seat?

111R 06-04-2011 10:22 AM

Based on your name I am going to assume you have track experience. So with that in mind: