6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   Aston Martin (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/aston-martin-39/)
-   -   Big Thanks to telum 01 (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/aston-martin/390094-big-thanks-telum-01-a.html)

captain Greg 05-07-2016 02:37 PM

Big Thanks to telum 01

I have been watching telums01 vids (and the guy is a god!) Im an average guy and fiddle but Im no mechanic.
I have been having a cold engine now for a while and have been pouring over the threads on DIY thermostat replacement.

I have now successfully replaced my thermostat, I did the job in around 45 minutes (including a engine detail) AM locally (Daytona Group quoted me the price of a small African country to do it) I considered that what is the worst that can happen ..? they collect and fix anyway and I pay.

After getting the JAG part number I ordered the part (52 USD) I followed his instructions and paused the video as I needed, I had to shorten the one stud to get the OAS bracket off and that was a bit frustrating but again search this mans vids and you find that one as well.

AM locally said they have never replaced a thermostat saying my electric fan must be running continuously??? really.
The thing was damaged exactly as the pics and vid on the stickies on this forum.
I never removed the front bottom plate I cut off some time by pulling the cover name plate and pulling the top hose off and after letting it drain just washed the car off well.
This saved a good 45 mins and the pain of lifting this thing.

I would not have done it without this fantastic help from telum01, and last week I followed his detailed instructions on the Battery replacement and it was a doddle. Only thing I was short in the tools dept was an adapter to connect a Torque wrench to the open end 13mm nuts that needed the 9Nm, I had to borrow that.