Item Condition:

Looking to purchase a 911 or Cayman, I like both

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-08-2017, 02:12 AM
TruAutoEnthusiast is an unknown quantity at this point
Looking to purchase a 911 or Cayman, I like both

Hello!
I am not new to the Porsche scene but things have changed recently so I have a few questions for y'all! Brief background information: I have been racing 2 stroke TAG karts since I was 5 years old and Shifter Go Karts since I was 11. I purchased a 2009 BMW 335i (Twin Turbo N54 motor; went Stage 2+ within the first week of ownership) when I was 15. After 2 years with the 335i, I sold it and purchased a 2009 BMW E92 M3 with a manual transmission (absolutely loved it). I owned the E92 M3 from 45k miles to 120k miles, fully Catless with a tune. I tracked it, drove it extremely hard, and the whole time only one thing went wrong with it... a fuel pump, and it was covered under warranty.😃 So Ive never really had an unreliable German car, and I hear Porsche is very reliable also, is this true? To be honest, cost of ownership won't scare me, because I have a daily driver and won't need to depend on this car to get to work. Its for the track and joyrides, so it can sit in my garage until I gather the cash to fix it, if need be. Im sure it definitely will be cheaper than the issues my brother is having with his 2011 Maserati GranTurismo 4.7L haha.

My family has owned 911's briefly in the past but they were never driven hard or tracked, so I'm not sure about reliability when they are driven hard. People who own them and drive them properly have told me that they are super reliable, while other (non-AutoEnthusiast) people have told me that they are extremely expensive to maintain. Im assuming these cars are more reliable when driven spiritedly, like I experienced with my E92 M3? To get fluids pumping through them, instead of sit in a garage or driven below 5k rpm all the time, correct?
All of the help and info is much appreciated!