Bentley From the original 3 Litre to the current Continental GT and Mulsanne

Wing repair HowTo

Old 11-21-2014, 09:57 AM
Zaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond reputeZaos has a reputation beyond repute
Wing repair HowTo

I finally took delivery of a 2005 Continental GT with 41k miles on it. Of course it is not perfect and I would never buy a perfect car either. Most of the fun is working on it

My wing was not working when I got the car and the yellow faulty wing light was on my display. If I press the wing up/down button, I could hear the motor, but the wing was permanently in the down position. I just want to share how I fixed it. Remember I am no expert.

The only special tool required for this job is a set of torx wrenches. It seems like Bentley really likes torx building the Continental.

First thing you have to do is to remove the trunk lining, ehh boot. Its a British car.
Remove the warning triangle mount and there is another screw opposite side of the interior release handle. The lining is a snap on/off type, so you can just pull it off. It is not required, but you could use a panel removal tools set:

Make sure not to rip any of the electrical connections to the lining when pulling it off. After the lining is pulled off, carefully disconnect any electrical connections to it. The Boot should look something like this after removing the lining: