6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   Bentley (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/bentley-42/)
-   -   GTC...anybody traced air suspension leaks? (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/bentley/418062-gtc-anybody-traced-air-suspension-leaks.html)

philberticus 02-26-2018 04:40 PM

GTC...anybody traced air suspension leaks?

09 continental gtc.
mine droops at the front over about 4 days of non use. pass front is definitely a little lower than drivers side.
took off pass front wheel, soaked everything with soapy water, no visible leak.
went to compressor underneath at back, same story.
if the strut itself leaks (I know they do after some years) how do I narrow it to that strut in order to buy parts?

thanks in advance

BWings 03-06-2018 06:47 AM

New to Bentley, but I've had lots of experience with Jaguar's air suspension. They leaked often from the top of the air spring. It was usually the top of the bladder that sprung leaks. It could be found with a spray bottle or flooding the top of the spring. The fronts showed through in the engine compartment. Sorry this probably isn't helping you much.

Steve

philberticus 03-06-2018 08:06 AM

Thanks for the reply, I was beginning to think I was in an empty room :)

I tried the top soak. I saw a video where they had failed internally, soapy water in the top of the strut yielded a lot of bubbles.
Mine doesnt do that, plus its a VERY slow leak. I sprayed the underside of the bladder where its visible, nothing there either. hoping theres a way to narrow it down before I have to go buy random parts

BWings 03-06-2018 08:30 AM