Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

Used 2009-2013 Cayanne, X5, or Touareg?

Old 05-01-2017, 02:13 PM
jdaddy is an unknown quantity at this point
Used 2009-2013 Cayanne, X5, or Touareg?

Been driving a 2001 X5 3.0 since new. Got 193K on it and keep it very well maintained. It and has not any major (engine, drive train failures) issues. Yes all the normal BMW issues but most started after 140K. Just sold a 95 525I w/ 198K that I bought used at around 80K 12 yrs ago. No major issues with that car either. So I'm feeling fairly loyal to the BWM brand for endurance. They also drive well. I am a drivers driver and have a stock car racing back ground '85-'95 along with Skip Barber training. So I usually drive cars fairly hard. I also own a '78 Porsche 911SC w/ 53K on it, along with some club track time I put about 1000 mls on it a yr. It was a hand me down from my father 21 yrs ago. He bought it new along with 2 others 911s, a '69 and '72, over the years of my childhood. So I'm also loyal to any thing Porsche as well. As a Realtor and a driver I've enjoyed the X5 for all the situations I get in. Now finally selling the X5 and am looking at a used SUV, something in the $23-30K price range. Don't want new just due to the amount of value drop off after lot roll off, and my SUV is more of a work horse. We use the 2016 Toy Tacoma for weekend fun. So after reading dozens of posts and threads about all the comparisons between Treg vs Cayenne, Cayenne vs X5, 3.0 vs 4.4, S or GTS vs Base, etc... So, between 2009-2013 w/ 40-70K mls for a Cayenne, X5 or Treg seems to be my range of $23-30K. Yes, I have driven all, not all variations of course. I think I'm close to a decision but would love thoughts of owners of those yrs of those 3 SUVs.

Old 05-01-2017, 06:41 PM