6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   Panamera (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/panamera-75/)
-   -   Oil bar (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/panamera/424065-oil-bar.html)

Gomez59 09-05-2018 06:03 PM

Oil bar

Hello. I’m new to Porsche and this site, so I hope you all bare with me while I learn about this car I acquired. Was wondering if my oil bar being 1.9 at idle is normal for this vehicle? Oil temp around 220. Also, had oil changed about 500 miles ago. Min oil light came on. Only oil they had was 5w 30 synthetic. As it was 3:30 in the morning not a lot of places available. Any help with this car would be greatly appreciated
thank you
forgot to mention. 2012 panamera 3.6 v6

konigstiger 09-06-2018 09:28 AM

I have a ‘10 4S and it idles at around 2 bar. 2.5 bar under load. I also got the low oil level error after an oil change. Topping it off fixed it. Just remember the 5 levels on the oil level gauge total 1 liter.

cerbomark 09-06-2018 05:00 PM

The min light shouldn't t be coming on after 500 miles on a new oil change unless whoever changed it did not fill properly.
I would nt worry about the 1.9 at idle ... they drop pretty low with hot oil at idle.
So you know 5-30w is the wrong oil (0-40 or 5-40) but a little won t hurt anything.

Gomez59 09-08-2018 09:26 PM

I appreciate all the info. Thank you!

Gomez59 09-08-2018 09:27 PM

Good to know. Thank you very much!

ciaka 09-13-2018 11:35 AM

yes, most already chimed in. 5W30 is not what I would use, but would not hurt the car short term.
Next oil change, use 5W40. I use castrol edge, had great experience with my other porsche and this one too.
Monitor oil as Panameras do consume it, and it varies car to car. Yours should consume less (non turbo).
Make sure it it topped up at least once a week, more often if you drive a lot.