997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Need advice..

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-27-2017, 10:18 AM
ezzcoke is on a distinguished road
Need advice..

Hi all,
I am new to Porsche and planning to make the first purchase on a 07 911 turbo awd from a private sale. Beside the PPI, what else I should look for?
The car only has 20k.
Tks in advance.

Old 06-27-2017, 10:31 AM
Basic Sponsor
PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !
Take it for a drive and listen for any weird noises. Try to get service records/carfax. Also, if you have one, bring a paint meter.

Edwin

Old 06-27-2017, 11:00 AM
The carfax looks ok, the seller is the 3rd owner for 4 months. No major service done just oil change.
Can I say if the PPI come back ok, then it should be ok to purchase it?

Old 06-27-2017, 11:03 AM
Basic Sponsor
PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !PrecisionPorsch Is a GOD !
Originally Posted by ezzcoke
The carfax looks ok, the seller is the 3rd owner for 4 months. No major service done just oil change.
Can I say if the PPI come back ok, then it should be ok to purchase it?
I can't provide any assurance that a clean PPI means a clean bill of health. It's most of going all you can to minimize the risk.

What kind of PPI is the dealer doing? The last "PPI" I asked for was simple a multi-point inspection ($135) and not the full blown PPI that was done when I bought my 997tt (~$400).