New Member Introductions New here? Introduce yourself to the 6SpeedOnline Community and show us your ride!

New Member Greetings from Switzerland!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-27-2015, 11:26 AM
GetALife75 is on a distinguished road
New Member Greetings from Switzerland!

Greetings fellow forummers!

Just in case you see the exact same thread over in Rennlist, I have used the same text here as well.

I am new to this wonderful forum and also new to Porsches. Never owned one in my entire life and still yet to buy one. Hoping to learn from the gurus here and pick up as much information that I can before dumping the cash for a 911.

Quick intro about myself. My name is Rodney and I am originally from Singapore. Have been working and living in Switzerland since 2008. Beautiful country and lots of awesome mountain passes to attack.

Since my move to Europe, my car history in sequence includes the following ...

07 Mini Cooper S 6MT, 11 Subaru Impreza STI Hatchback 6MT, 08 BMW E92 M3 6MT, 07 VW Golf 6 GTI 6MT, 09 BMW E93 M3 DCT, 12 VW Golf 6 R DSG and 07 BMW Z4 M Roadster 6MT

The last 2 are currently what I am driving.

I have admired and lusted after Porsche 911s since my teenage days. That sleek and instantly recognizable design. So I am now finally ready to go for it!

The GT3 has since forever been the holy grail for me. But I am not sure that I can ever fulfill the potential of that car. I would only classify myself as an above average driver. A 997 GT3 would be the dream car to have. But I feel that it would be a waste in my hands (and feet). So realistically I have decided that I would go for a 991 C2S.

And because I have no prior experience with 911s or Porsches for that matter, except for a quick test drive in a 997.2 TT PDK, the main dilemma I face now is which transmission to go for.