996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Factory Bose speakers ohm rating...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-22-2011, 11:58 AM
beckham23 is a jewel in the roughbeckham23 is a jewel in the roughbeckham23 is a jewel in the roughbeckham23 is a jewel in the rough
Factory Bose speakers ohm rating...

As I am planning to upgrade from my dead CDR23 CD player to a Pioneer or Clarion Nav unit with the eBay kit, a friend of mine (who will most likely be working with me on this upgrade) brought up a question...

Anyone knows the ohm rating of the factory Bose speakers?

I am not very technical compared to my friend as he just loves doing this as a hobby, he mentioned that if the factory speakers have any special ohm rating...like 2, 4 ohms? If its mostly standard speakers, probably easier to bypass the factor amp entirely. Either use the built-in head unit amp or external 4 channel amp.

Old 02-22-2011, 06:02 PM
Page is a glorious beacon of lightPage is a glorious beacon of lightPage is a glorious beacon of lightPage is a glorious beacon of lightPage is a glorious beacon of lightPage is a glorious beacon of light
This is a great write up from TINS...

After a few months and numerous discussions with various "experts" Here is what I've discovered:

- After MY 2002 1/2 Porsche began using MOST bus system (fiber optic).
- Head unit replacement requires replacement of the amp (one 5 channel amp runs the OEM system, it's located next to the spare)
- The Bose speakers are 2 ohm, the Bose subs are also 2 ohm, but are wired in parallel and therefore in original configuration run at 1 ohm.
- There are very few amps that run stable at 1 ohm.
- You can re-wire the Bose subs in series and they will run as 4 ohm
- Your choice is to replace everything (head unit, amp, and speakers) and have full flexibility in the equipment and sound quality you want...
or