6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource

6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/)
-   996 Turbo / GT2 (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/996-turbo-gt2-2/)
-   -   Intermediate Shaft? (https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/996-turbo-gt2/314535-intermediate-shaft.html)

OEM 08-04-2013 08:27 PM

Intermediate Shaft?

Are intermediate shafts as big of a deal on the turbo engines as they are on the non turbo motors? I'm still learning all the ins and outs of these cars since I just got it, so I'm curious. Plus I'm SUPER paranoid to the point I'm diagnosed OCD so I literally just spent 5 minutes listening to the engine run in my garage and think that almost every sound is a bad sound.

Thanks.

NoGaBiker 08-04-2013 08:56 PM

Sounds to me like your motor is probably toast. Best to just go ahead and replace it. :eek:

OEM 08-04-2013 09:16 PM

Thanks, you're unbelievably helpful.

machinegunt 08-05-2013 04:33 AM

No worries man! These turbo motors are pretty bullet proof!! Research MEZGER and know you have one of the best Porsche engines ever!! The NA Motors on the regular 996's are the ones to worry about!!

NoGaBiker 08-05-2013 07:34 AM

Originally Posted by machinegunt (Post 3910049)
No worries man! These turbo motors are pretty bullet proof!! Research Metzger...

Except spell it "Mezger." :)

On second thought, it's probably misspelled on the internet more than it's spelled correctly, so you may get more hits with Metzger. ;)

King James 08-06-2013 06:35 AM

The engines in these cars, at best, sound like there is a bag of marbles inside. This is entirely normal. They are different than regular engines in many ways so it *shouldn't* sound the same as engines in other cars, noises included.

Few important points:
Dry Sump oiling system
Boxer style engine (not a v or inline)
Mezger engine based on the GT1 Racing Porsche engine
Mezger is the most winning engine in race car history (by large margin)