996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

AX tire pressure (TP)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-11-2014, 10:17 AM
lgl314 is on a distinguished road
AX tire pressure (TP)

Hey Folks, tough question because of the variables. I've been AXing for 15+ years in several different cars but never a 1999 Porsche 911 Cab. My question is what's a good starting point for the TP, higher or lower then normal TP and by how much? The rears are Yokohama S-drive, 265/35R 18 and the fronts are Bridgestone Potenza RE 760 Sport, 225/40R 18, front and rear have like new tread depth. Normal TP: front 36 psi and rear 44 psi. Any advice would be appreciated, my first AX this year is next weekend. Thanks, Larry

Old 05-11-2014, 12:11 PM
Pors-Vette is a jewel in the roughPors-Vette is a jewel in the roughPors-Vette is a jewel in the rough
You may want to leave your tire pressure where it is until you heat up the tires after a few runs to see how your car handles. For the most part you'll probably want to lower your tp by a few lbs to get the most grip. I've seen some lower their tp so much that they broke the tire bead from the rim during hard turns. You can also talk to drivers with like vehicles, ie: rear engine, vehicle weight, weight distribution, etc, and see what pressures they're running.

Old 05-14-2014, 08:40 AM
Pors-Vette, Not many AXer's on here. But thanks for your input . . . I can't wait to try out the P-car on the AX course. I could have a 'handle' similar to yours, mine would be Pors-Cobra. I built a FFR roadster 10 years ago, scary fast and so much fun.
Thanks again, Larry

Old 05-14-2014, 09:12 AM
FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !FLA996TT Is a GOD !