996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

New Hankook tyres feel like I'm floating - what can I do?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-26-2017, 09:23 AM
Simonxyz is an unknown quantity at this point
New Hankook tyres feel like I'm floating - what can I do?

Hi

Based on an online review and ATS advice I have just replaced standard Michelin with run-flat Hankook tyres on my Mini Cooper-S.

Having covered around 100 miles, if driven quickly through corners the car now feels as if it is “floating” and at significant risk of oversteering. In short if I had to perform an emergency steering manoeuver I have no confidence in retaining control.

I therefore have several questions:
1) Has anybody else had this experience?
2) I am new to run-flats, is this floating sensation of the back-end wanting to be in front normal?
3) What are my legal rights in respect of getting them swapped for a more reputable brand like Pirelli or am I now £440 out of pocket after being swayed by a combination of advice on this site and comments by the manager at ATS?

Thank you

Old 08-26-2017, 09:33 AM
Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !Macster Is a GOD !
Originally Posted by Simonxyz
Hi

Based on an online review and ATS advice I have just replaced standard Michelin with run-flat Hankook tyres on my Mini Cooper-S.

Having covered around 100 miles, if driven quickly through corners the car now feels as if it is “floating” and at significant risk of oversteering. In short if I had to perform an emergency steering manoeuver I have no confidence in retaining control.

I therefore have several questions:
1) Has anybody else had this experience?
2) I am new to run-flats, is this floating sensation of the back-end wanting to be in front normal?