996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Lowering with H&R

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 12:57 AM
Hawk Eyes is on a distinguished road
Lowering with H&R

Hi all, this is my first time to the forum, don't even have a pic to show , yet... will after I get to lower my C4S - 04'.
Are the H&R springs to lower by one inch the best out there?
Can anyone show some before & after pics to truly convince me of the effect.

Old 06-26-2006, 04:05 AM
adybuncio is a jewel in the roughadybuncio is a jewel in the roughadybuncio is a jewel in the rough
I dont have before pics, but the drop was around an inch and a quarter, rides better now and handles like a champ, taking on and off ramps here in so cal at close to 50mph at the really tight ones and 100mph from 133 on to 405 north

Old 06-26-2006, 08:12 AM
deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !deputydog95 Is a GOD !
don't just buy springs. i went that route the first time around. they're pretty good for a while, then eventually (rather quickly) the stock shocks wear out and go to crap resulting in uneven handling that is worse than stock. since it is so expensive to have the springs and an alingment done, save your money and get some coilovers. figure around $600 for install and alignment for springs and coilovers. figure around $300-400 for a decent set of springs. figure around $1800 for a set of bilstein PS9's. when you eventually become disasitified, you'll have wasted around a thousand dollars on the springs. "spring" for the bilstein's i know it's an extra $1400, but it will be worth it in the long run.

the springs are a good temporary cheap quick fix for improved looks though.

Old 06-26-2006, 10:33 AM