997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

PCCB pads for the track

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-09-2012, 10:47 AM
cp supreme is on a distinguished road
PCCB pads for the track

I'm going to the track for the first time this Saturday. I was told I should be looking at about 4, 20 minute runs throughout the day. Am I good to go with the stock pads or should I have a set of track pads? I'm definitely going to be limited with how fast they allow me to drive given it's my first time so it only makes sense that I wont be braking too hard either. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

Old 07-09-2012, 01:45 PM
Steamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond reputeSteamboat has a reputation beyond repute
Track pads, by definition, are more aggressive than oem pads; i.e., they are more abrasive on the rotors to get the greater initial bite and improved coefficient of friction. However, with replacement pccb rotors going for more than $15,000 a set, you either need to be careful what you wish for or have an almost unlimited budget. A lot of track guys will replace their pccb's with a standard steel setup to avoid this problem. Ceramics won't stop you any faster either, they just weigh less which is helpful if you are a competitive racer; usually one racing on someone else's nickle. Your setup is fine for a few DE's but if you get into it seriously and/or really start using those brakes to their full potential, you may want to consider a less expensive alternative to replacing the rotors at some point. Have fun!

Old 07-09-2012, 05:00 PM