Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

DB9 Idler Pulley Replacement DIY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 01:28 PM
caltech is on a distinguished road
DB9 Idler Pulley Replacement DIY

I've spent quite a bit of time in the forums and have been able to find out where to get parts and learn from some of the easier DIY's (door struts, etc). First and foremost - I am not a mechanic and what I am sharing is my experience to potentially save someone some time if they contemplate this.

My engine had a squeaking sound when cold, and most of the information I found directed that the first step is to inspect the accessory drive belt and idler pulleys and potentially replace if the sound is localized to this area. The belt was not new, but not cracked either, so I made the decision to replace the accessory drive belt and while I was in there replace the three idler pulleys since the incremental cost was not great.

I did not find a DIY for idler pulley replacement, so I figured I'd post one to contribute as I've already received much benefit from this site. So here goes.

The two main issues that I spent time navigating are finding the right tool to use with the belt tensioner, and getting proper access to the pulleys. After much research, I purchased this serpentine belt tensioner tool on Amazon. I saw several that had fixed 3/8" heads, but they limited the position of the tool. This tool has two inserts 3/8" and 1/2" that can be inserted on any axis in the hex slot. Additionally, it has two different length extensions that help to work around obstacles.