997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

First HPDE tomorrow, advice needed please

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-28-2015, 04:50 PM
THEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to beholdTHEWHEEL22 is a splendid one to behold
First HPDE tomorrow, advice needed please

This is my first time doing an event in my own car so, I've opted to run in the novice class with an instructor. I've driven this track a handful of times in others cars which where all stock cars. ( V8 R8, 997TT, F430 & GTR) my 997 is much quicker than what I've driven here before. What I'm wondering, should I run my car on Stage 1 Cobb map? When I'm at the drag strip which I have tons of wheel time, I run the car on the 100 Octane Map. Also, how many people end up buying the HPDE Insurance?

Thanks Guy

Old 06-29-2015, 12:44 PM
matt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to all
Run the TT at the lowest HP/TQ maps you have. Speed means nothing in HPDE, it's all about how smoothly you can enter and exit corners, carrying speed. Don't measure your performance by top speed on the straights, measure it by lap time. It is not a race, you get no points for passing other cars, some which have less than half the hp/tq of a turbo.