Race The Base

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-29-2010, 07:45 PM
dimf is on a distinguished road
Race The Base

I am relatively new to this hobby. I was able to watch Race The Base in Cold Lake, Alberta

http://www.zrauto.ca/race-base-challenge.php

This event was organized by Zahir Rana, a fundraising event with a cool twist. He invited exotic car owners to bring their cars and try to make it go as fast as it (and the driver) could go, legally. No prize, but one of the goals is to hit the top speed of 300 kph. The event was held at the runway of the Canadian Forces Air Force Base, supposed to be one of the longest in North America.

It was cold, windy and wet (at some points) day, but well attended.

Before the run, the driver, the vehicle and vehicle specs were displayed in jumbotrons, and the announcer would announce the expected top speed. Some guys made it the exclusive club 300, many didn't. Talking about driver pressure - at the end of the run, the top speed would be displayed on the screen.

I was not able to see all the runs, but I observed that almost all of the guys who drove Ford GT-40 did very well (300-340). There were a few female participants - most of them made it to 300 kph. I would say better batting average than men,what's up with that? The highlight of the event is Zahir racing his Ferrari Enzo against an F-18 fighter jet.

After the race, most of the competitors gathered in a parking lot in Bonnyville, a nearby town. You get to touch, feel, hear and smell some of the biggest names in auto.

My first time to such an event, so many exotic cars in one place, so little time to appreciate. An awesome experience. I wonder if any 6speeder participated, I saw a few Lambos & Ferraris with US registration plate.

Here is a link to my facebook album, pls let me know if it works

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...7&l=f294d93f7d

Old 08-29-2010, 07:58 PM
S7AR is on a distinguished road