996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

996 Oil problems after a long solid run

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 09:24 AM
Ruoy911 is on a distinguished road
996 Oil problems after a long solid run

Hello 996 friends
Maybe some of you remember I had a faulty AOS couple months ago which luckily did not turn into a tragedy. Since then i have put a good 2000 miles on the car with out any problem till two days ago.

My friend who im visiting for the holidays noticed a small oil circle on the drive way. As a typical 996 driver i tried to blame every other car on the lot except mine To note was that already after leaving orlando my oil level wasent the fullest. To be exact i had 3 bars on the digital gage and the analoge one showed me always 1+ in IDL which is fine for the car.
The day after noticing the oil circle on the driveway I checked the oil level in the morning and both gauges showed me 0%! I freaked out. Did the manual reading in the back and she was super dry. Didn't move the car an inch before toping it up with 1,5oc of 4/50 mobil oil.
Drove it to a "German" shop just to get un understanding of what the car looks like from underneath. Right away he was scaring me with words of faulty IMS, broke engine case, bla bla bla.. I insisted to check it out anyway.