997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

997 Gen 2 Carrera S: Ripoff? Keep searching?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-28-2014, 11:22 AM
ChiGuy1215 is on a distinguished road
Question 997 Gen 2 Carrera S: Ripoff? Keep searching?

I'm new to buying possibly a 911 C2S or a 987S. Yes, 2 different cars, but it seems like the Carrera S prices are quite inflated.

Is this a ripoff for 77K? Or keep searching?

2011 Carrera S (would never get a base)
14K miles
PDK
Sport Chrono (don't care for it personally)
PASM
PSM
Bose
Navi
Vent seats

Do I need to look at 2010 or 2009s to hit sub-65K? To be honest, the driving fun at regular highway speeds or corners is not much different than a Cayman S.

Old 06-28-2014, 12:18 PM
BrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud ofBrakingBad has much to be proud of
Originally Posted by ChiGuy1215

Do I need to look at 2010 or 2009s to hit sub-65K?
Yes.

For 911's in general:
Speaking as a former owner, the Cayman S is a fantastic car. It was quicker, because of the exceptional mid-engine balance, than my current car on tight, technical mtn roads (such as the Dragon). If those were the only roads I traveled, I would still own the Cayman S. If, however, you have always admired and wanted a 911, you will eventually succumb to temptation and trade up. I don't regret the experience of owning a Cayman S at all but, financially It would have been smarter to get the 911 from the start.

Old 06-28-2014, 01:39 PM
Acceptable Price Goals?

Thanks.

So for a 2011 Carrera S under 25K miles with PDK, upgraded sound, heated seats, maybe vent seats, and not much else, what should I look for about in the asking price?