997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

My 997, a buying experience.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-05-2017, 08:28 PM
ADGilly is an unknown quantity at this point
Post My 997, a buying experience.

Long time VAG owner, and many VAG vehicles along the way, but first time Porsche owner, thanks to this gentleman, Michael2364. I feel as if I’ve graduated to where I’ve always dreamed as an 18 year old kid with a 337 edition GTI. Been a while, but I got it, my Porsche.

If I can recommend anything to a friend from this experience, in buying a Porsche, it’s to buy it from an enthusiast. My buying experience from Mike was as good as it can be. Here’s the break down.

I have been researching 911’s for a while, actually since January, 2017. Everything from 996 turbos to 991 leases. I could make them happen financially, but I was looking for what spoke to me. Love it or hate it, I found myself heart-set on a 997.1, C2S, 6 Speed, dark exterior/ dark interior, with a factory Aero. Talk about a hunt!

I saw Michael2364's post, if you’re reading this off the link I posted on his for sale ad, you see I was ready to roll sight unseen. I knew it was it. When he contacted me, we spoke, realized we had some commonalities in professions and I felt comfortable enough to PayPal him 1k as a deposit for 2-3 weeks until I could get up to NYC from my condo in Miami Beach. I travel a lot, and work a lot, so it was a crunch.

I flew into JFK and grabbed an Uber to Mike’s place. As I rolled up, I saw him tinkering and meticulously detailing the car, a car he was selling! That right there spoke to me that he’s an enthusiast. Mike and I met, he explained to me how he’s owned this 2006 997.1 C2S (Aero) since purchasing it in ‘08 from a dealer. He went on to speak on every detail. He knew every inch of the car. I was pretty dumbfounded, at the same time, impressed, then confident I found the right car.