Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Track day - need some advice

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-17-2012, 12:15 PM
jmargolese will become famous soon enoughjmargolese will become famous soon enough
Track day - need some advice

I am scheduled for my first ever track day in a month. Its a 1.3 mile closed course with 2 straight aways and 6 turns. I am going to have my brake pads and fluid changed out about 2 weeks before the track day, but wanted to get some opinions on what to use. I have seen several people mention Motul brake fluid as the best option so I am sold on that. But, the big one is the pads. I am planning on leaving my OEM pads on the rear, but switching out the fronts. I have seen many mention Pagid RS-29 yellow as a good pad for track days. Thoughts on this? Is there another brand I should look at? Will I be ok with the rear pads?

Any other tips or tricks I should be aware of? I am a newbie to the track having only been on one track day before in rented cars, never the Vantage.

FYI, I have a 2008 v8v Roadster with RSC cats and filters, everything else is stock.

Thanks!

Old 09-17-2012, 02:42 PM
dicktahoe is a glorious beacon of lightdicktahoe is a glorious beacon of lightdicktahoe is a glorious beacon of lightdicktahoe is a glorious beacon of lightdicktahoe is a glorious beacon of light
I've had my Vantage on the track only 1-day. I found the stock pads quite good and fade-free, so I wouldn't change them unless they are near to the point of being changed anyway. You'll find 3rd gear to be the most useful on the track--50mph/3500 RPM to 100mph/7100 RPM. 4th gear will take you up to about 120+. For most tracks, just shifting between 3rd and 4th works well. I found that 2nd gear peaks out too soon at 70MPH/7000 RPM, and the time I gained I lost in down to 2nd, and shifting up to 3rd. "Your results may vary!"

Old 09-17-2012, 03:22 PM