Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Yet another project for my Vantage

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 10:58 PM
karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !karlfranz Is a GOD !
Yet another project for my Vantage

The "pimp-ification" of my car continues.

I had a spare steering wheel since I bought a replacement to get the cruise control option. Not willing to leave well enough alone, I decided to bring out my trusty sewing machine and cover the older wheel with blue and black Alcantara to match the diamond quilting I had done in my previous project. In reality, 99% of the stitching I wound up doing by hand. I only used the machine to reinforce the joints between the two colors. Before any of you ask: no, I have never done anything like this before.

I also figured out a way to move the steering wheel cruise and stereo/phone controls from the other wheel back to this wheel. It turns out it can be done (regardless of what the dealer tells you), but it is definitely not for the timid as it involves chopping the rubber on the wheel hub with an Exacto knife.

Below are a few pics I took tonight after I installed the wheel in the car. Also note my new V12V/DBS shifter which I installed at the same time.

I will post more pics/details of my project in a little while.

Attached Images    
Old 01-16-2013, 11:59 PM
groutguy has a spectacular aura aboutgroutguy has a spectacular aura aboutgroutguy has a spectacular aura about
Looks Great! Kudos on being up to a challenge!

Old 01-17-2013, 12:15 AM