Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

How To: DIY Transaxle Fluid Change

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-22-2014, 03:49 PM
telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !
How To: DIY Transaxle Fluid Change

All credit for this DIY process goes to Irish. I followed his steps. Hopefully a How To DIY guide will give a better understanding of the job! This is relatively easy and took me about an hour and a half.

As always, follow all safety protocols. Don't undertake this task if you aren't comfortable with it. I am not a certified mechanic, I'm just a hobbyist. Please read all steps below before beginning. You are ultimately responsible for anything you do and I am not liable for anything that may occur.

The DIY detailed below is the process I used for changing the gear oil in the manual transmission of my 2007 V8 Vantage. The process may vary for other years and models. Quantities are in US amounts (ie, US quarts).

Tools Needed
T27 Torx Bit
14mm Hex Bit
22mm Socket*
8" extension for 22mm socket*
8mm Socket
Ratchets for above bits, sockets, and extension
Gear oil
Fluid pump for gear oil
Drain pan (6+ qts capacity)
Jack, jack stands
Paper towels

*Instead of the 22mm socket, extension, and ratchet, it may be easier to use a long 22mm box wrench. I didn't try this so I'm not sure which method would be better.

Before you begin
1) Make sure you have ratchets that work for each of the bits, sockets, and extensions in the Tools Needed list.
2) Make sure your fluid pump fits the bottle(s) containing your gear oil.
3) Very briefly drive the car to get the gear oil warmed up. Don't drive for too long because the exhaust (and everything else under the car) is also getting hot. You only want the gear oil warm enough to flow smoothly to help it drain. It doesn't take much.