Bentley From the original 3 Litre to the current Continental GT and Mulsanne

A day out to the factory

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-15-2013, 01:38 AM
nrick is on a distinguished road
A day out to the factory

I thought most of you guys wouldn't be able to get to the factory but as I was invited I'd walk you through. It is a staggering experience, as an automotive engineer I have seen plenty of car plants from all over the world but nothing like this.

The tour started off in the museum with a couple of old priceless blowers on display, the story of the brand from WO on and one of the original clay models of the new shape GT, the lineage of the brand is clear to see. In the corner of the room was a brand new top spec mulsanne which we were able to climb all over. That is simply on another level to the GT but in the next room was a new flying spur which we were again allowed all over and the leap from the old spur to the new one is giant and not that far behind the Mulsanne in my opinion.

Then on to the real treat, through the customer selection room which resembles an old study full of Bentley artefacts where customers can see all the various options in terms of leather and wood, you get a real sense of the brand DNA.

Across the road you enter in past a new Speed and a Merlin engine (Did you know they were built on the Crewe site?) and into the main build shop. There are 180 cars being built, mostly LHD with 55 completed every day.

You start at the end with the guys doing final inspection, auditing the auditors with 2 cars separated from production to be checked against a master, and the guys setting panel gaps etc. Everything is being checked and if it isn't good enough it is put right. There was a speed with the engine and transmission out but I got the feeling that nothing got through.