Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone in the Richmond, VA area with a B&M on a 6 speed?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 01:52 PM
perryinva is on a distinguished road
Anyone in the Richmond, VA area with a B&M on a 6 speed?

I installed the B&M SSK with an Evoms billet link on my 02 996 yesterday. I like it much more than stock, but am not in love with it. I pretty much hated the stock shifter. It is perhaps the most disappointing design on a "drivers" car. Looking to see if anyone local has it and it feels any better, in case I didn't get everything right. I'm an engineer and understand the linkage design, and there is only a limited number of ways that it can be improved.

The only thing that is adjustable on the B&M is where the shift lever angle is relative to the neutral position. It is essential to get the blue, left hand connection correct as that indexes the tranny forks (I assume) in the correct location for the correct gear pairs. The right hand gray one, is the throw. Too short and the forward gears (1,3,5) may pop out because the shift lever hits interference before the gear is fully engaged. Too long, and the same applies to 2,4,6. There is some adjustment to set how far forward you want 1st to be, before you hit interference. I wanted the forward position gears as far back as possible.