Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

Rinspeed rim Cracked -Suggestion and solution

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-21-2010, 04:58 AM
ken133 is on a distinguished road
Red face Rinspeed rim Cracked -Suggestion and solution

Hi to all fellow members..

i'm a newbie and i just got a 995 Cayenne black in color. I have changed to Rinspeed wheel 23" five spokes design and running with a tyre of 315x25x23 Conti. No doubt, i know the tyre is like rubber bend but theat is the recommended size. I have been using it for about 4 over months and the one of the rim started to have a hairline cracked on the inner part the wheel with a size a less then a inch. I have sent the wheel for repaired by one of the wheel expert and what i knew that they only help me to weld the cracked part. I thought after the wheel being welded, it should be fine. Unfortunately, a couple of weeks down the roads, the same wheel started to cracked again. With this bad experience,i dont have faith in using the wheel anymore. Any advise or solotion? or else i'd just get rid of them and change to 22" with thicker tyre.

Old 02-21-2010, 10:32 AM
NeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond reputeNeilM has a reputation beyond repute
go to 22's. 23's uses too low a profile tire that you'll end up cracking/bending the rim again in the future.

Old 02-21-2010, 01:53 PM
paulycw is on a distinguished road
How are the roads in Malaysia? I was in KL a few years ago and it seems to be ok.

22's really will not help since the 295/30/22 tires will not give much more sidewall to protect from rim damage than your current rubber bands.