Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

Question about Tiptronic transmission!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 09:54 PM
pjhz21c is on a distinguished road
Question about Tiptronic transmission!

Hi everyone,

I just received my 2011 V6 Cayenne and enjoying it very much.

This is my first time experience with tiptronic transmission. While I was driving on automatic mode, I found out that the gear shifts up even though I keep my speed and rpm constant (this seem to make rpm go way too low). Also, the gear tends to shift down instead of up when I try to speed up by pushing the gas. Is this normal in tiptronic?

Thanks!

Old 05-11-2011, 05:42 PM
ronl will become famous soon enoughronl will become famous soon enough
Originally Posted by pjhz21c
Hi everyone,

I just received my 2011 V6 Cayenne and enjoying it very much.

This is my first time experience with tiptronic transmission. While I was driving on automatic mode, I found out that the gear shifts up even though I keep my speed and rpm constant (this seem to make rpm go way too low). Also, the gear tends to shift down instead of up when I try to speed up by pushing the gas. Is this normal in tiptronic?

Thanks!
I'm not on super firm ground here but think that the tranny is shifting up seeking a lower rpm for the best gas mileage possible. Second, when you depress the accelerator the tranny knows you want power so it seeks a lower gear at higher rpm to give you the thrust you want. Perhaps this is too simple?

Old 05-11-2011, 07:12 PM
You are the first person to reply on my post in 6speed!
Thank you so much for the reply ronl!

Old 05-12-2011, 10:03 AM
Conan is on a distinguished road
I agree.

When cruising at set speeds, the transmission will choose the most economical gear thereby lowering fuel consumption. Higher gears mean lower revs, so the car will shift up to safe fuel, and make the driving smoother.