GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

996 GT3 brake question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 08:47 AM
Jgalt will become famous soon enoughJgalt will become famous soon enough
996 GT3 brake question

I am new to a 12,000 mile GT3, my first "steamer". After putting about 2,000 miles on it I have a question about the brakes that I am not sure is just "the nature of the beast"

My car has 19" wheels with P-Zero Pirelli's. Good tread all around. On firm application of brakes from highway speeds (55-70 mph), dry asphalt or concrete, straight line:

1. It feels like the front brakes momentarily lock up;
2. There is a click sensation in the brake pedal like the ABS is kicking in; and,
3. Sometimes there is a noise from the brakes not unlike old Mercedes ABS systems (1980's)

The rotors are stock steel. The pads have yellow backing and seem to be original. The car was reportedly never tracked and there do not appear to be any strees cracks on the disc face normally associated with track use.

I pulled the front pads and when slliding the face across sandpaper on a flat surface, the contact area appears to be on the ends with the center party of the pad untouched, almost like the pad face was concave.

Normal?

Suggestions?

Old 11-10-2008, 06:08 PM
HooliganX is a splendid one to beholdHooliganX is a splendid one to beholdHooliganX is a splendid one to beholdHooliganX is a splendid one to beholdHooliganX is a splendid one to beholdHooliganX is a splendid one to behold
That does not sound normal to me at all. I rarely have ABS kick in and only when the brakes were applied like a "panic stop" (really, really hard). I have not noticed the noises you describe when ABS has kicked in either.

I would have your brake system looked at, best to be sure nothing is wrong with brakes.

I've never run 19" wheels on the car and neither have the other 996 GT3 owners that I know so I'm not sure if that could be a factor or not.

- Jon